Missouri State University
a b c d e f g h i j k l m n
o p q r s t u v w x y z

Dr. Arthur Mallory recognized with Bronze Bear award

Award will be presented at Dec. 13 commencement ceremony
Friday, October 18, 2013

MalloryArthurIn recognition of his long-standing involvement with and support of Missouri State University, former Missouri State President Arthur Mallory will receive the 2013 Bronze Bear Award. Mallory will be the 15th recipient of the award, which is presented to those who have exhibited “extraordinary achievement and/or outstanding support” for Missouri State.

The Missouri State University Board of Governors voted today (Oct. 18) to award the Bronze Bear to Mallory, which will be presented at the Dec. 13 commencement ceremony at JQH Arena. The Bronze Bear Award includes a framed resolution and a 45-pound, 18-inch Bronze Bear in an upright position mounted on a base. Established in 1998, the Bronze Bear Award was designed by former Missouri State art professor Dr. Jim Hill. A 14-foot statue version of the Bronze Bear mounted on a 3-foot concrete base is located just north of Missouri State’s Plaster Student Union.

“There is no one more deserving of this honor that Dr. Mallory,” said Missouri State President Clifton M. Smart III, “not only for his successful tenure as president at Missouri State, but also for his role in advancing education statewide. On a personal note, I have known and admired Dr. Mallory for many years for the kind of person he is. It will be a great honor for me to present the Bronze Bear to him.”

Mallory became the fifth president of Missouri State University in 1964 and served until 1971. He was the youngest president in university history, beginning his tenure at age 31. During the turbulent years of campus unrest across the country, Mallory proved himself a capable reconciler, sensitive to the views of students, faculty and the community. After seven years, he left the presidency to take the position of Commissioner of Education in the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, a position he held from 1971-87.

Following his stint as commissioner, Mallory returned to Missouri State as the dean of the College of Education, a role he held from 1991-94.

Mallory currently serves as a director at Parents as Teachers National Center, Inc. During his years as commissioner of education, legislation for special education and the gifted was passed. When the Parents as Teachers pilot project results were released, he was instrumental in promoting legislation requiring that every Missouri school district offer a Parents as Teachers program.

A native of Buffalo, Mo., Mallory received his B.S. degree in education from Missouri State and his master’s and Ed. D. in education from the University of Missouri. Mallory was honored during the university’s centennial with the dedication of the Arthur L. Mallory Plaza on the North Mall area of campus off Bear Boulevard.

Prior Bronze Bear recipients include:

  • 1998 – John Q. Hammons, international developer and philanthropist
  • 1999 – David D. Glass, former president and CEO of Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., of Bentonville, Ark., and owner of the Kansas City Royals baseball team
  • 2000 – Dr. Duane G. Meyer, president emeritus of Missouri State
  • 2003 – Virginia and William H. “Bill” Darr, founder and owner of American Dehydrated Foods and related companies, and Springfield philanthropists
  • 2004 – Jane and Ken Meyer, owners of Meyer Communications, Inc., and Springfield philanthropists
  • 2005 – Dr. John H. Keiser, president emeritus of Missouri State
  • 2006 – Thomas G. Strong, nationally-known attorney
  • 2007 – The McQueary Family, former owners of a wholesale drug company
  • 2008 – The Turner Family, Great Southern Bank
  • 2009 – The Pinegar Family, Pinegar Chevrolet
  • 2009 – Dr. Michael T. Nietzel, former president of Missouri State
  • 2010 – James P. Ferguson, president of the Heart of America Beverage Company
  • 2011 – Robert W. Plaster Foundation and the Plaster Family, developers and philanthropists
  • 2013 – The Journagan Family, Journagan Construction Company

Recipients of the Bronze Bear are recommended by the university president and administrative council and supported by the executive committees of the Faculty Senate, Staff Senate and Student Government Association, prior to going before the Board of Governors for approval.


About Missouri State University
Missouri State University is a public, comprehensive metropolitan system with a statewide mission in public affairs, whose purpose is to develop educated persons. The university’s identity is distinguished by its public affairs mission, which entails a campus-wide commitment to foster expertise and responsibility in ethical leadership, cultural competence and community engagement.

Media Contact

  • Clifton M. Smart III
  • (417) 836-8500


Twitter YouTube iTunes U Missouri State Blogs Facebook Flickr LinkedIn